Watertown Democrats Elect Delegates for the State Convention

Delegates will attend the Massachusetts Democratic Convention in Springfield in June.


The following information was sent out by the Watertown Town Democratic Committee:

On Saturday, Feb. 11, Democrats in Watertown held a caucus to elect delegates to the Massachusetts Democratic Party’s 2012 endorsing convention in Springfield this June.

The caucus, organized by the Watertown Democratic Town Committee, elected 22 delegates and four alternates to represent Democrats in Watertown at the annual convention. The delegates selected by attendees were Caroline Bays, Anna Clark, William Clark, David Downes, Louise Enoch, Alan Epstein, Barbara Epstein, Susan Falkoff, Marian Ferro, Ben Jackson, Edward Kennedy, James Kraus, Robert Kubacki, Richard Marcus, Nasim Memon, Sharline Nabulime, Tony Palomba, Eileen Ryan, Maria Saiz, Michael Schade, Tia Tilson and William Twombly. William Jones, Joan Kraus, Mary McCarthy and Fredrick Pitcher were selected as alternates. 

In addition, Steve Owens, Chair of the Watertown Democratic Town Committee, will serve as an ex officio delegate. Also serving as ex officio delegates are Watertown Representatives Jonathan Hecht and John Lawn, Governor’s Councilor Marilyn Devaney and members of the Democratic State Committee Rachel Kaprielian, Melvin Poindexter, and Tina Poindexter. The convention will be held on Saturday, June 2, 2012 at the Mass Mutual Center in Springfield.

“In 2012, the Massachusetts Democratic Party is focused on expanding and strengthening our grassroots infrastructure that helped us make historic gains in 2010,” said Massachusetts Democratic Party Chair John Walsh. “In Watertown and across the Commonwealth, Democrats are energized and organized to beat Scott Brown and make sure President Barack Obama is elected to a second term.” 

"In June, these delegates will be gather with Democratic leaders from across Massachusetts to endorse a candidate for US Senate and plan for a grassroots, person-to-person campaign in the fall,” Walsh added. 

Delegates to the 2012 Massachusetts Democratic Party endorsing convention will select candidates to compete for the Democratic nomination for U.S. Senate. All 22 delegates selected from Watertown pledged to support candidate Elizabeth Warren at the convention. “She's energizing so many who have never been so deeply involved before, and giving hope to those who felt they had no one sticking up for them,” said Richard Marcus, coordinator of the Watertown for Elizabeth Warren Committee. “It demonstrates the genuine grassroots appeal of her campaign."

In addition to delegates who are elected at caucus, those who meet the qualifications, may apply to be add-on delegates in the following categories: youth, minority, and disabled. Applications are available by contacting the Democratic Party at 617-939-0800. Completed applications must be returned to the Democratic State Committee by March 30.

The Watertown Democratic Town Committee will have its next meeting on Thursday, Feb. 23, at 7:30 p.m. at the Watertown Town Administration Building. For more information on the Massachusetts Democratic Party, please visit www.massdems.org.



More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »