IMAGE GALLERY: Boston College Hockey Team Celebrates 2012 National Championship

The Eagles paraded around campus with their NCAA title trophy and addressed their fans.

Members Boston College's 2012 NCAA hockey national championship team boarded trolleys outside their home rink at Conte Formum for a parade around the campus, up Commonwealth Avenue and to Thomas "Tip" O'Neill Plaza on Tuesday afternoon.

The Eagle captured their latest title, and their fifth overall, on Saturday with . Team members showed off their trophy to their fans, including Sen. John Kerry and Newton Mayor Setti Warren, both of whom have degrees from BC.

The win was the fifth overall for head coach Jerry York, who hails from Watertown, and his fourth with BC, which is also his alma mater.

Members of the Eagles' five national championship teams – 1949, 2001, 2008, 2010 and 2012 – were acknowledged during celebration, which drew 7,000 students, faculty and fans.

Ed Casey, Len Ceglarski, Walt Delory, Fran Harrington, Giles Threadgold, represented the 1949 team that captured BC's first national championship with a 4-3 win over Dartmouth in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Bobby Allen, Justin Dzaima, Tim Kelleher and Brett Peterson represented the 2001 national championship team that defeated North Dakota 3-2 in overtime in Albany, N.Y.

Kyle Kucharski, Andrew Orpik and manager Kenny Ryan represented the 2008 team that captured the school's third national championship with a 4-1 win over Notre Dame in Denver, Colo.

Cam Atkinson, Matt Lombardi and Ben Smith represented the 2010 team that defeated Wisconsin 5-0 in Detroit, Mich., to take the program's fourth national title.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »